Skincare Science: L’Oreal Skin Perfection Correcting Day Moisturiser

skincorrection

I’ve been really keen on my skincare lately; I turned 23 in June and I’m getting paranoid that I’m starting to get fine wrinkes on my forehead. I’m blaming the PhD stress! To try to keep the effects of aging away for as long as possible I am trying out a range of daily moisturisers to keep my skin in the best condition possible. I have come across a product that I absolutely love and it has become a part of my everyday routine: this is L’Oreal Skin Perfection Correcting Day Moisturiser. It is aimed at 20-30 year olds wanting to keep the signs of aging at bay for as long as possible and I really respect the research that L’Oreal put behind their products so I thought I’d give this a go.

First impressions were good: the bright pink packaging looks great and it smells wonderful! It has a gorgeous silky texture on the skin and is really light so it is absorbed really quickly and leaves the skin feeling soft and hydrated all day long. I’ve been using this product for about 2 weeks now and I’d even say that the dreaded fine lines on my forehead seem reduced, brilliant!

20140802_193158

So what is going on inside that shiny pink pot that has such a wonderful effect on our skin? Well L’Oreal Skin Perfection Correcting Day Moisturiser is absolutely packed full of emollients, these are ingredients which lock in moisture and leave skin feeling silky smooth. If you look at the ingredient list these agents include isopropyl isostearate, penterythrityl tetraethyl hexanoate and octyldodecanol, so plenty in there to keep skin hydrated! Hyaluronic acid is also a player in the mix to increase skin elasticity and reduce the appearence of fine lines, if you would like to find out more about the infamous hyaluronic acid why not check out my latest Magic Molecules post which breaks down the science behind it?

The star of the show in this product is Perline P – otherwise known as Eperua falcata bark extract, a plant extract which has anti-inflammatory properties. How though, do anti-inflammatory properties help our skin fight off signs of aging? There is a phenomenon that is relatively unknown whereby inflammation causes the skin to age, known as ‘inflammaging’. A cell signalling pathway known as the NF-kB pathway stimulates the production of imflammatory cytokines, chemical messengers in the skin which activate an enzyme called plasmin serine protease. This enzyme is responsible for the creation of reactive oxygen species or free radicals which cause the skin to age through the rapid breakdown of hyaluronic acid, a molecule which gives skin its elasticity. Perline P prevents this enzyme from ย doing this and so helps to keep our skin from aging, how great is that?

Despite the principles, I would have been sceptical about the claims of this product if I had not have tried it for myself. I honestly think that this product has done my skin good and I would recommend it to anyone as a basic skincare product for everyday! Let me know what you think!

Skincare science

9 responses to “Skincare Science: L’Oreal Skin Perfection Correcting Day Moisturiser

Leave a Reply

