Liebster Awards!

liebsterblogaward

The Scientific Beauty is 3 weeks old today and already I have had so much fun researching and writing scientific beauty posts! I’ve also met some great beauty bloggers along the way and am excited and inspired for where I want this blog to go in the future. I have been lucky enough to have been nominated for not one, but two Liebster awards! A big thank you goes out to Eleanor of Elesaurus  and Megan of Room with a Bloom, go and check out their posts!

The Rules:

  • Thanks the blogger who nominated you
  • Answer the questions given to you by the person who nominated you
  • Nominate 5-11 bloggers and come up with a set of 11 questions for them to answer

 

So, I’d better get on with answering the questions that have been put to me!

From Eleanor:

  1. What is your favourite thing about blogging? I’d love to be a science writer one day so I love that blogging gives me the platform to practice this without any rules or topic regulations, I am my own boss! I love explaining science in a way that is easy to understand and I get to combine this with another passion of mine, beauty! I’d love to hear any feedback you may have about my writing as I’m always looking to improve
  2. What camera do you use for your blog photography? To be honest I use the camera on my Samsung Galaxy S3, it does the trick for now but I’d love a better camera! I love photography and would love a big camera to take nice pictures on holiday as well
  3. How do you find things to write posts about? So far I have had no end of inspiration for posts, I have to write them all down in a notebook so I can remember what they all are for the future! I like to write about beauty topics that I think need more awareness, such as suncare, and about any products that have some interesting scientific claim behind them. I think it’s important that people understand what is in the products they use and I hope to demystify some of the key facts through this blog
  4. Do your friends/family know about your blog? In a word, no. But I’m getting more confident about this blog and its encouraging that people have been so positive so far so maybe it’s about time I let people in on my blogging secret!
  5. What blogger inspires you the most? Well there are lots of beauty bloggers out there that I adore but I have to credit the scientific blogger Ed Yong for inspiring me to start a science communication blog after he gave a wonderful workshop about blogging with science at the university. After I came up with the idea for a science beauty blog I wanted to see if anyone else was doing the same thing and discovered Beauty by the Geeks, which I read every single morning at my desk. They have such a fabulous and natural style of writing about science in beauty and I would be happy if my blog was even a fraction of what theirs is!
  6. What hobbies do you have (apart from blogging of course)? I have been a keen salsa dancer for 9 years and if I’m not in the lab you can find me in the Manchester salsa bars with a beer in hand! I also love snowsports and have my own snowboardIMG-20121210-00010IMG_20140406_120058
  7. Favourite Disney film? Finding Nemo! I even have a GIANT Nemo!

    He's ginormous!

    He’s ginormous!

  8. Would you ever brach out onto Youtube? Probably not to be honest, I’m already super busy with the PhD and explaining science via a video would probably be more like a lecture than a fun video!
  9. Favourite show as a kid? That’s a tough one, it was quite a long time ago now! I’ll go with Buffy the Vampire Slayer
  10. What’s your best memory? Definitely all the amazing holidays I was lucky enough to be taken on with my parents, touring around Arizona was pretty cool!
  11. Do you have any hidden talents? Not many people know that I dance salsa and even fewer know that I was Cuban salsa and Bachata varsity champion 2013/14 😉

 

Megan’s questions:

  1. What’s your favourite season? I do love long summer days and warm evenings but as a snowsport fan I also love the crisp freshness of winter, especially when it snows!
  2. What does your blog name mean? The name is pretty self-explanatory really! The inspiration came when I was reading a paper from the journal ‘The Scientific American’ and sort of adapted it to describe what this blog is about. It’s also about me because I think we’re all beauties and I’m a scientific beauty! 😉
  3. What is your favourite candy/sweet? Chocolate. Always chocolate!
  4. How long have you been blogging? 3 weeks today! So happy with how it’s going so far and all the support I’ve had from fellow Bbloggers, I even reached 100 Twitter followers today and have 44 followers across WordPress and Bloglovin, so thanks everyone!
  5. Which blogs do you check daily? As mentioned above I check out Beauty by the Geeks every morning and then read various others throughout the day
  6. If you could go on holiday anywhere, where would it be? I’m off to Barcelona in a few weeks with the bf which I’m pretty excited about but if I could go anywhere I’d LOVE to see Brazil! I’m a massive fan of Latin American music and culture!
  7. Do you have any special talents? Salsa dancing. Been in love with it for 9 years so picked up a few tricks along the way 😉
  8. What’s the best book you’ve read recently? Honestly, I don’t read much, terrible I know! I spend so much of my time at work reading scientific journals that I like to go out into the actual world in the evenings! So I guess my most recent book would be this gripping beast…

IMG_20140131_150230

9. What is your favourite holiday of the year? Christmas, sucker for a mince pie

10. What’s something that you’ve learnt recently? Apart from geeky PhD stuff, lots of blogging tips!

11. What quote do you live by? try not to let the opinions of others get me down, especially in the university I get very anxious about speaking to other scientists so I try to remind myself nobody else’s opinion about me matters and as long as I’m improving as a PhD student (and now a blogger!) every day then I’m happy 🙂

 

I would like to nominate the following bloggers for the Liebster Award:

Paper Dove

Simply Davelyn

Life of Briony

LilyRose

Florals and Corals

 

The questions I would like you to answer are…

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. High heels or flats?
  3. Who would your dream date be with and why?
  4. What is your guilty pleasure?
  5. Girls night out or girls night in?
  6. Who inspires you the most in life?
  7. If you could teleport to anywhere in the world right now where would it be?
  8. What is your fondest childhood memory?
  9. Which blog do you enjoy reading the most and why?
  10. If you won the lottery what would be the very first thing you bought?
  11. What is your favourite thing about blogging so far?

 

Can’t wait to see your posts, don’t forget to link me in so I can see them! Thanks for reading!

 

7 responses to “Liebster Awards!

  1. Hey there! Thanks for the nomination! 🙂 Just one thing – where is your list of 11 questions for me? I cannot do the post without them, can I?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award | simply davelyn·

Leave a Reply

